The Glory Gets (2015)

"In The Glory Gets, Jeffers reminds us that very often ‘catharsis is not healing.’ Her poems—about lynching, lost love, racism, the challenges of being a black woman—are never simple, formless rants or indulgent confessionals, but witty, intelligent and sophisticated examinations of very complex issues. The collection is a wonderful wisdom book that is openly vulnerable, uncertain, and yet full of remarkable grace.”—Kwame Dawes, author of Duppy Conqueror: New and Selected Poems

Order The Glory Gets here.

The Gospel of Barbecue (2000), Winner, 1999 Wick Poetry Prize

“Honorée Jeffers is an exciting and original new poet, and The Gospel of Barbecue is her aptly titled debut work. These poems are sweet and sassy, hot and biting, flavored in an exciting blend of precise language and sharp and surprising imagery that delights.” —Lucille Clifton

Order The Gospel of Barbecue here.


Outlandish Blues (2003)

“‘Muse, a Lady Cautioning,” dedicated to Billie Holiday, demonstrates Jeffers's ability, in this second collection, to create beautifully crafted, nuanced, ambivalent figures out of people who have become reified by myth or history.” —Publishers Weekly

Order Outlandish Blues here.

.Red Clay Suite (2007), Finalist, 2006 Crab Orchard Open Competition

“Honorée Jeffers leads with her ear and follows with her rigorous intellect, then adds an emotional depth and fearlessness that make her poems uniquely powerful. This brilliant third book is a thinking woman’s blues that continues to challenge, delight, and terrify.”—Elizabeth Alexander

Order Red Clay Suite here.